Practical Goal Setting: The Journey 3

At my job, we have an online project list. At the end of each week, you log in information about what you’ve done towards your projects. Everyone can see this list. Like EVERYONE, from the head honcho VP down to your co-worker. Although it was created as a way for us to all have open communication about what we have going on, it also puts in this extra kick to ensure that you’re making meaningful progress towards your projects. The worst thing is for all your projects to say No update. You might as well just say you’ve been chillin’ all week.

I’m keeping this in mind as I continue my “The Journey” posts. This is a way to help me hold myself accountable with how I’m progressing in my goals. Because the thing is that when you have goals, you can’t put the responsibility solely on others, you have to take accountability for yourself as well.

So for me this is twofold:

  • One, if I’m not making progress then I won’t have anything to post about.
  • Two, as my readers aka my accountability partners, you have the right to call me out on it so that I will shamefully but quickly get back on task!

But of course all of this starts out with the goal itself. So let me back up a bit to describe my process of creating and achieving a goal. It’ll kind of remind you of SMART goals, but it’s my own informal take of it. Read through it and give me feedback in the comments section if you think I may need to tweak something. I’m always open to feedback!

  1. Create Big But ATTAINABLE Goals.

Simple right? Actually, not so much. There are times where people will create only goals they feel that are small and easy solely because they don’t feel confident that they can achieve challenging goals. But you’ll be robbing yourself of an opportunity to achieve great things if you only stick to little goals. You need to push yourself. Stretch yourself. Do something that is going to make you work harder than you have before. Something that you can’t easily slide by doing. Now of course, be smart about it of making it an attainable goal. Like I can’t make it a goal to own 20 businesses within a year. But maybe I can have a goal of to have started one business of my own by Dec. 2017. That’s more realistic.

  1. Break it down.

Ok you have this great goal. You’re nervous about it, but you’re excited at the same time. Perfect! Now you need to break it all the way down. Like down to digestible weekly pieces. It may seem like it’s hard to do, but it really isn’t. Start with the end in mind. By when do you want to achieve this goal? Okay now break the goal down by month. Good. Now break it down by week. Perfect. So now you know what you need to accomplish each week to reach your end goal.

This will take some time to do. However, the good thing about this is that it makes it more realistic to you of how you can achieve your goal. The goal you have doesn’t look so much as a mountain anymore. Instead, you have a hill or two to climb each week and before you know it, you’ve hit the summit! People give up on their goals because it seems overwhelming to them, and they fill their mind with negative thoughts that they can’t do it. By breaking down your goal, you’re setting yourself up to eliminate that kind of thinking.

  1. Have a visual timeline.

This step is pretty similar to break it down. The only difference is that you’re placing it on a calendar. If you’ve already broken down your goal into weeks, this step should be rather easy. If you skipped step 2 thinking it didn’t matter, then HA now you have to do it! (You thought you were slick huh?)

So look at your digestible pieces and place them on your calendar. This calendar can be the one on your phone or on a paper calendar hanging on your wall. The good thing about your phone is that you can set up reminders to prompt you to work towards your goal every day. The good thing about a paper calendar is that you can see your goal every day when you get up to keep it fresh on your mind. If you can’t decide, do both! It’s up to you. Whichever works. But make sure that you’re setting time aside each day to complete what you need to get done towards your goal.

  1. Do it.

Ha seems like this is an unnecessary “step” isn’t it? Well trust me as a person that have made PLENTY of timelines and plans, it’s not all that easy. The do it part is the hard part for me. There has been countless times that I’ve made this elaborate plan and felt all good about it to only fall off on it within a few days. What’s the point of planning if you don’t push yourself to do it? This is where you have to exercise your discipline muscle to just do it. This is the part where I fail at the most but I’m determined to stay focused this time around.

 

So now that you know my process, here’s the actual plan. I’m starting off with trying to make some new habits along with a few projects. I have many more goals but these are most important to me to achieve for now. All of these I’ve tried and failed many times, but I’m ready now to buckle down and tackle them!

Create big but attainable goals.

  • Read at least one book once a month.
  • Be consistent with praying and reading my bible.
  • Finish creating my Take Aim mentorship guides so that I can begin mentoring high school students.
  • Have a regularly updated and successful blog.
  • Drink 8 glasses of water a day.

    Break it down.

    (To give a few good examples, I’ll just take one goal and one project from above to break it all the way down.)

Drink 8 glasses of water a day.

One of my favorite water bottles is a glass one with plastic around it. Fill it up in the morning and follow this schedule as I refill. To remind me and help me keep track, I’ll use the app Done to log when I drink my water.water bottle aiming for more

  1. On the way to work
  2. Morning to lunch time.
  3. Afternoon to driving home from work.
  4. Evening to bed time.

By then I would have drunk 72 oz of water which is over my 64 oz goal.

 

Finish creating my Take Aim mentorship guides so that I can begin mentoring high school students.

End goal is to finish creating the mentorship guides by end of 2016 so that I can mentor 4 students in 2017.done aiming for more

Split up each section (Content, Design, Clean Up) to finish one topic every 3 days with a catch up day on Saturday. Connect with a friend of mine to discuss evaluation methods in January to fine tune it that month. In February, post on Facebook to ask if anybody would like free virtual mentorship for their high school student to find my 4 students. Set up timeline to go through program with each student and have it completed by the end of 2017.

So for this week, I will work on lessons 2.3 and 2.4. Each day I will focus on the content, design or clean up of these two lessons. If something comes up where I run out of time this week, I’ll catch up to finish it on Saturday so that I can stay on task for next week.

Create a visual timeline.

I use Outlook for my calendar, and it gives me a notification of when it’s time to do each task.

Do it.

Welp let’s see what happens. Hoping for the best!

 

So what are your goals and how are you planning to achieve them?

Do you have any feedback for my plan of attack of my goals?

Leave a comment!

One comment

Leave a Reply

