Walking Off the Stage to Start New Chapter

I…am tired.

Like I just don’t feel like there’s words in the English language that will truly suffice to describe my level of exhaustion when it comes to school.

I started my journey to earn my Master’s degree back in the Spring of 2013. I took it slow at first but eventually I crept up to the Summer of 2015 and felt irritated that I still had 6 more classes to go.

working towards graduationI have been holding down a full time job through the entire journey as my light, gas, and water bill could care less about my education goal; they just want their money. However, going through this journey with only 1 or 2 classes a semester was making me feel anxious. I was tired of midnight deadlines and papers. I was tired of forcing myself to read through boring chapters. I was tired of pretending like I was so intrigued by Amy’s discussion post with my meeting the minimum 4 sentences of describing how she made a GREAT point.

I’s tired.

So I did something crazy that I wouldn’t recommend to anyone unless they just can’t do otherwise. I tackled full time work with full time school. Working a full time day job with 9 graduate credit hours. I did this for two semesters and hated every moment of it. graduationNow mind you, I enjoyed the topics (except for Statistics…that was straight hell) so it wasn’t like I didn’t like what I was learning but just the stress of meeting deadlines and completing assignments as soon as I got off from a stressful day at work was overwhelming. It was so hard to mentally focus to have creative ideas and designs at work and then come home and push my brain even more to focus on theories and designs. That was rough.

graduation day

You know how people look back on things and say that the time flew by. Nah. I did NOT feel that. Graduation day came at a slow pace. But I’m glad that eventually it did and I’m happy it’s all over. It doesn’t even feel like graduation has happen yet. It hasn’t fully hit me yet. Maybe when the Fall comes and I realize I’m not starting class, it will but until then I was try to focus on a few things that I’ve become increasingly anxious to get started on:

  • Growing spiritually – I’ve seriously slacked off from where I once was. Yes, I’ve stayed pretty much consistent with going to church but when it came to daily prayer and reading the bible, that’s where I’ve fallen off. It’s so important for me to make this a daily habit and I plan to focus on doing so.
  • Progressing in My Career Goals – I love my job but one thing about my field is that it is ALWAYS changing. With e-learning design there’s SO many talents that I can master to make my courses exceptional. I hope to study on my own time to broaden my talents to do just that.
  • Social Life – I’ve seriously neglected friends and family as I relentlessly sought after my career goals with my education. I regret doing so but now is a better time than ever to be a better friend, girlfriend, and daughter to those that matter most.
  • Finances – The state of my finances aren’t extremely bad but they are not extremely great either. With student loans, credit card debt, and other bills holding their hand out, I have to do a better job at management if i want to stay afloat but live life fully.
  • Physical Health – I’ve been putting this off so for long but do to some health issues that I’m having, I have to start putting my physical health as a priority meaning better eating habits, water drinking, nurturing my natural hair, better sleep habits and exercising.
  • Community Service – I’m a firm believer that as you reach milestones in your life, you should hold the door open for others so that they can grow and reach their goals as well. We have to help each other. I have several service projects up my sleeve (one of which is to begin career coaching) that I can’t wait to get started on to do just that.

So now’s the time! Just thought I’d give a little back story of where the new categories have come from. This blog will not only serve to talk about my journey as I aim for more out of life but will track my progress as I start shifting my focus to holding the door open for others to reach their goals. With this blog, I want to share my experiences, the lessons I’ve learned, and hopefully be able to relate with someone else out there that is hoping to aim for more in their life as well. I’d love to help anyone else that I can to help plan their journey to the life they envision when they truly aim for more. So follow the blog, follow the social media accounts, and let’s aim for more together.

A4M Pinterest

Leave a Reply

